Unicorn Frappuccino

Screen Shot 2017-04-19 at 10.47.25 PM

… To continue the analogy, have you ever thought about how God has created each of us sort of like unicorns? Stay with me here… God created each of us to be special, completely unique from any other person in the world. To be colorful and joyful and pretty. But our society has led us to believe that we should be more like mass-produced, commercialized Barbie dolls than one-of-a-kind unicorns!

Psalm 139:13-14 (NLT) says, “You made all the delicate, inner parts of my body and  knit me together in my mother’s womb. Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex! Your workmanship is marvelous – how well I know it.”

Did you hear that? So wonderfully complex! Though ordering a Unicorn frap was probably the most basic thing I’ll do this week, God’s word says that he made me complex! I love reading different versions of this verse, too. The NIV says that we are “fearfully and wonderfully made.” The Christian Standard Bible says, “remarkably and wondrously made.” And The Message says, “Body and soul, I am marvelously made!” They all have the same gist, but each slightly different phrasing sounds uniquely beautiful.

The Word also speaks to being uniquely made in Matthew 10:29-31 (NLT). It says, “What is the price of two sparrows–one copper coin? But not a single sparrow can fall to the ground without your Father knowing it. And the very hairs on your head are all numbered. So don’t be afraid; you are more valuable to God than a whole flock of sparrows.”

And again in Jeremiah 1:5 (NLT), when the Lord tells Jeremiah, “I knew you before I formed you in your mother’s womb. Before you were born I set you apart and appointed you as my prophet to the nations.” Now here you may be thinking, “Okay… Well I’m not a prophet soo… I don’t think this applies.” Okay, so you may not be a prophet, but the concept still holds. God knew you before you were even an idea in your mom’s head. And he had already set you apart to be a teacher, a nurse, an athlete, an artist, a ____… Fill in the blank with whatever you have been called to be or whatever incredible talents you have been blessed with!

Don’t you see? God made you to be you! He made you special! He didn’t just copy some other person out there or use a template. He designed you to be uniquely and beautifully you! I hope that you can take comfort in the fact that you don’t have to measure up to the commercially produced Barbie dolls of this world. All you have to do is allow God to express the beauty He’s created in you!

So… the Unicorn Frappuccino didn’t quite live up to the hype (in my opinion). But you can certainly live up to the hype that is being the unicorn that God created you to be!

If you want a few more verses on being uniquely made and set apart in Christ, check out Psalm 119:73-74, Isaiah 64:8, 1 Peter 2:9, Jeremiah 29:11, Ephesians 2:10, Psalm 139:16, 1 Peter 4:10-11, and 1 Corinthians 12:25-28.

Leave a Reply

