This is 24

Birthday 1

So I’ve been 24 years old for two weeks now! Very exciting stuff… okay, maybe not that exciting. Despite midterms just around the corner from June 7th, Aaron and I still enjoyed a nice dinner out to a new  restaurant downtown (10/10 would recommend The Golden) and obviously got ice cream, too.

 

 

In these past few months, I’ve been thinking quite a lot about my everyday habits, and in these few weeks surrounding my birthday, I’ve been thinking even more. At this point, I think I can pretty much call this “adult life”. Okay well what do I mean by that? Many college students tend to not really consider themselves “real adults”. And for good reason, I suppose. It’s pretty acceptable to sleep in, look like you just rolled you of bed most days, maybe use the ’sniff test’ on clothes, and do whatever you please at night pretty much all the time. For most kids in college, it’s relatively low responsibility or commitment to acting like an adult all the time. And for me (and other college athletes), there was also someone telling me when and how to workout, so staying in shape wasn’t a huge issue because it was just something I had to.

Now though, none of those things really apply to me even though I’m still in school (but I won’t be forever… thank the Lord). But even once that changes, my schedule will likely still have a similar level of inconsistency to it if I end up working in a hospital setting — very long hours some days, fewer or no hours other days. So in this realization that I am “an adult” now (whatever that really means), I’ve been thinking about my day-to-day, and the habits I’ve been forming or ignoring. The way I see it, the habits that I have and consistently stick to now are probably ones that I’ll continue to follow for at least the next several years.

For a while I’ve sort of had in the back of my mind that I could just wait and build these good habits once I’m out of the hectic, stressful setting of PA school. But that is total bologna. Life is always going to be this hectic. For one, I’m entering the field of healthcare. Especially in the hospital setting, healthcare can be a pretty unpredictable and stressful job when considering daily activities. And two, I hope to eventually be a parent… and that is a whole new ballgame of stress and unpredictability. So I think (or hope) that if I can form these habits now, in what is my most stressful schooling to date, I’ll be able to maintain them when new challenges and stressors are added.

Because I’m not very happy with the habits I have now, I’m making some new year’s resolutions. I realize it’s not the start of a new calendar year, but it is the start of a new year for me. PLUSSS… for me, the start of 2017 was pretty much anti-resolution. For the sake of the wedding, I’d been overly strict with myself — I kept a tight diet, was working out at least 5 days per week, and was trying to sleep at least decently (to avoid looking exhausted or getting sick), etc. But after the wedding, all that went down the drain because I was ready for endless wedding cake, pizza, and time on the couch. I’ve pretty much avoided picking any of the good habits back up since then and I’ve been forming some pretty horrendous ones that I’d rather not keep. So… what are all these ‘habits’ and resolutions I keep speaking of? Read on!

 

Pray more. Be consistent in the Word. Be actively swimming upstream, a.k.a. moving towards God.

There’s no question about it, I need to add more Jesus to my day. To be honest, right now I’m spending little to no time with Him everyday and then just showing up to church, hoping to binge and sustain myself for the whole week. A surprise to nobody … that is not working so great. Not only is it a Biblical command to pray without ceasing, to set our minds on things above, and to be constantly regarding God, it is something that I want to be evident in my life so that I can effect positive, Godly-motivated change in others. Most likely, I need to figure out a brand new routine that will work for me because obviously whatever I’ve been “doing”, or more realistically, not doing, is not working.

Exercise consistently FOR ME, MY HEALTH, AND I.

In the past, I’ve exercised and worked out for two primary purposes – either for a sport or to be in “wedding shape”. But now, there is no particular motivator, and most (read: all) days, it is way easier to sleep in, watch TV, or take a nap rather than workout. As I talked about in another post, there are SO many benefits to our health that we get from exercising! Not only does my body want and crave those, but I know that I need it to stay a little more sane, and to maintain the shape that I feel most comfortable in. … Which brings me to my next goal.

Improve my body image.

This is a really tough one for me. I have never really truly loved my body. Growing up, I was pretty much always in the 90th percentile for both height and weight. I was “proportional” but not thin. As my mom promised, I have thinned out, but now more than ever, social media is a major buzz kill on body image. And I have to get past that and get comfortable in my own skin. I do think that for me part of that is getting back in shape. But I also need to come to a point where it’s not all about having abs or arms that don’t jiggle. Because hello, I’m a regular person, not a fitness blogger or whatever who works out twice a day with my personal trainer in my home gym. So I just need to see that I’m perfect in God’s eyes (and Aaron’s… bless his soul), and that’s really all that matters.

Nutrition. Period.

I eat well for the most part. But I also have a serious sweet tooth. … Or maybe sweet teeth. And also possibly a salt tooth. Regardless, healthy, nutritious things do not tend to fall into the categories of sweet and salty (my idea of sweet and salty, anyway). I want to follow a sustainable 80/20 lifestyle (note my avoidance of the word diet). If I can eat clean at least 80% of the time, it’s okay to splurge a little the other 20%. Greens, greens, greens. More protein. Higher quality carbs. WAY LESS SUGAR. And way less processed. Who knows, maybe I’ll even try out another Whole 30 just to give me the kick in the rear I probably need.

Nutrition Part 2.

Oh, and drink more water. A lot more.

Nutrition Part 3. 

When I first wrote these, I wrote “less caffeine”. But LOL, who am I kidding. That’s unrealistic. So scratch part 3.

Hygienic sleep.

My sleep habits are laughable. There is no consistency to the time I go to bed or wake up. Sometimes I take naps. I often fall asleep on the couch and then have to get up and move in the middle of the night. I usually set at least 5 alarms and snooze the first 4 (or maybe even all 5). All of this is so, so bad for my sleep hygiene. It is seriously disrupting the quality of my sleep and often wrecks havoc on my energy and ability to maintain focus throughout the day. I really want to be intentional about going to bed early, getting up early, and … well pretty much doing the opposite of what I’m doing now. To read more about sleep hygiene, check this out.

Be more thankful. Complain less.

I kinda think I might complain a lot. My sincere apologies to all those around me. Nobody likes a complainer. So I would really like to take the focus off of my pity party and just be more thankful. That was part of the purpose of this blog anyway – to have a perspective of appreciation!

Waste less time.

Wow. My time management is pathetic. I used to be pretty good at this, and then something happened. It’s one thing to “waste time” doing other semi-productive things, but sometimes I just sit and stare outside. Or I scroll through the “Discover” page on Instagram. What the heck – I don’t even know those people! So I really need to get a lot better about just getting my s**t done. That will help me be a better student, and also probably help with #1 and #5.

Serve my husband.

This is another Biblical command, but I also just really enjoy doing it as a wife! And I think I’ve been slacking. Plus, I’m still learning so this is an improvement *plus learning* goal.

 

Side note: Even though the goal I have listed first happens to be my top priority, the rest are in no particular order … Basically what I’m saying is that “Serve my husband” is not my lowest priority.

Birthday 2

Okay, so I’ve rambled on for probably too long by now. If you’re still with me, congrats. And thanks for reading! Now you all are responsible for helping hold me accountable for these. I published them so they’re fair game to call me out on.

Also, this has been my first post in a while! Turns out these can take a minute to write, so maybe if I can really improve #7, I’ll have a bit more time to write. Who knows. An update! I am officially signed up for the Fort 4 Fitness Half Marathon! Yay! Yikes! So I really will need to get my butt in gear and start training because I’ll be going 13 miles on September 30th either way!

Again, thanks for reading! Maybe I’ve inspired you to reinstate or create some of your own New Year’s Resolutions! If so, or if something I talked about resonated with you, feel free to comment below!

Leave a Reply

